lunes, 9 de abril de 2012


Calidad FLAC

01. Billie's Bounce
02. Low Down And Dirty
03. Thunder Walk
04. Doobie, Doobie Blues
05. What's New
06. I Remember Wes
07. Windmills Of Your Mind
08. Song For My Father
09. Carnival Joys
10. Giblet Gravy
11. Walk On By
12. Sack O' Woe
13. Groovin'.


Tracks 1-3,5:
Herbie Hancock : piano,
Ron Carter : bass,
Billy Cobham : drums,
Johnny Pacheco : congas

Track 7:
unidentified -piano,
Bob Cranshaw : bass,
Jimmy Johnson : drums

Tracks 8-9:
Clark Terry : trumpet,
Garnett Brown : tb,
Arthur Clarke, George Marge-ts,fl,
Paul Griffin-keyboard,
Chuck Rainey-el.b.,
Leo Morris-dm

Tracks 10-13:

Ernie Royal, Snookie Young : trumpet,
Jimmy Owens : tp,flgh,
Alan Raph : bass tb.,
Pepper Adams : b.sax,
H. Hancock : piano,
Eric Gale : guitar,
B. Cranshaw : bass,
B. Cobham : drums.

However, there are unnecessary strings on track 6 and 7 (too close to easy listening muzak for a jazz purist); and there are relatively harmless back-vocals on tracks 11 (by Eileen Gilbert,Lois Winter,Albertine Robertson if you need to know), although the vocals are erroneously listed as being on tracks 10-12...

Also, track 7 (Windmills of Your Mind) is listed as if performed by the band from track 4 (evidently NOT true)...

"Billie's Bounce" is listed as a George Benson composition (I'm not really sure it's true; correct me if I'm wrong); in addition to some indubitably Benson's compositions,
there's Silver's "Song for my father" (performed admirably; I don't like Silver all that much, but this is a GOOD song), Cannonball Adderley's "Sack o'woe", Bacharach's "Walk on By"....

There are quite a few mistakes in musicians listing (which may have made me misinform you against my will),

Original sessions were produced by Esmond Edwards; digitally remastered for CD by Dennis Drake (Polygram Studios)

3 comentarios:

pepejazzy dijo...


Anónimo dijo...

thank you very much...good for you@

atresillado dijo...

Qué buena esa versión de Take Five! Es un crack este Jorge.